About Us


The Port Macquarie Bodyboarding Association (PMBA) is one of the longest-running bodyboard clubs in the world, having been established for over 30 years. 

During that time the PMBA can boast 23 crowns at Regional, State and National level, four World Titles and numerous internationally recognised professional riders including Michael ‘Eppo’ Eppelstun, Damian King, Adam and Ashley Murray, Peter and Vicki Gleeson, Britt-Marie Laidley and of recent times Chase O’Leary, Charlie Holt, Sam Bennett and Jones Russell. 

The PMBA also plays host to major bodyboarding events such as the Port Macquarie Teams Challenge and David ‘Goose’ Gosby Memorial. The PMBA’s Teams Challenge is the only event of it’s kind in the world. This unique event is steeped in history with the first event being run way back in 1988! 

Bodyboarding clubs from around Australia would and still do compete each year to claim the title of ‘best club in the nation’. 

In addition to this the club pays tribute to one if it’s founding members David Gosby by holding the David ‘Goose’ Gosby Memorial Competition each year in October. 

David tragically drowned whilst surfing one afternoon after school. Both the Teams Challenge and David Gosby Memorial are two of the longest running memorial events in the history of our sport and are a testament to the comradery and rich culture of our club. 

The PMBA meets on the first Sunday of each month with the exception of June and October as this is when the Teams Challenge and David ‘Goose’ Gosby Memorial competitions are held. Each competition is held at one of the local beach breaks between Port Macquarie’s North Shore and Lighthouse Beaches. 

The club is a community based, not-for-profit organisation and is run entirely by local volunteers. We encourage all bodyboarders of all ages and abilities to join our club and enjoy competing in a fun, safe and supervised environment. 


How our competitions are run 

Each club member competes in their nominated age division and accrues points from their wave scores for each heat. Points are accumulated over the course of the competition season with an overall place given at the end of the year. All finalists will be announced at the end of each competition and overall winners announced at the End of Year Presentation.